Today is a day it would be very easy to revert. A cigarette would sure be nice… A drink… A toke… Just forget all of it and call it a movie day. Laze around and forget everything. Be a glutton and eat everything in front of me. Right? Sounds good…

But, nothing gets accomplished that way. Nothing actually gets better. It only gets worse.

But Proverbs, written by one of the wisest Kings that roamed the Earth says this:

Vs. 6 – 11 Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones. Learn from their ways and become wise! Though they have no price or governor or ruler to make them work, they labor hard all summer, gathering food for the winter. But you, lazybones, how long will you sleep? When will you wake up? A little extra sleep, a little more slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest – then poverty will pounce on you like a bandit; scarcity will attack you like an armed robber.

 *  *  *

So many things compounded to make for an overwhelming situation… If it’s not the cats getting into the trash, it’s the mice taking over my kitchen. If it’s not my daughter (age 4) cutting her hair, it’s my son throwing temper tantrums. If it’s not my dishes running over, it’s the laundry mountain I must climb. If it’s not the bookkeeping calling my name, it’s the sales tax reports I must file.

Overwhelming to say the least. But you know what? Even though at every second I can feel my heartbeat in my chest due to building anxiety and stress – I am comforted that God is right here with me. He is holding me up. He is my strength.

Psalms 46:1-5

1God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.

2Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change
And though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea;

3Though its waters roar and foam,
Though the mountains quake at its swelling pride. Selah.

4There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
The holy dwelling places of the Most High.

5God is in the midst of her, she will not be moved;
God will help her when morning dawns.

The definition of trouble is: to disturb the mental calm and contentment of; worry; distress; agitate. To put to inconvenience, exertion, pains, or to cause bodily pain, discomfort, or disorder to; afflict.

A lot of times we think of actual trouble as a situation we cannot escape. A situation that is dire. But according to this definition, anything that causes the above IS trouble. SOOOO – the scripture says that “God is in the midst of her (trouble)… God will help her when morning dawns.” Oh my. That is comforting to me. Isn’t that to you? Through the midst of it all, God is at the center, giving me strength I don’t attain on my own.

Psalms 73:26 26 My flesh and my heart may fail, But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

My feelings EXACTLY today!

Dear Jesus – thank you for blessing me with this! I really need your guidance today. Please give me the strength to not be overwhelmed by the tasks at hand. Please stretch the time so that my children & I can dye eggs too… That would be wonderful! Let my heart be peaceful through the strength of your spirit. Please bless other people who are reading this and might feel like they are alone in their situation, reassure them through me that they are not. Amen.

One thought on “Help In Trouble

Leave a Reply

